A ray of light

by Anita Menon

Sometimes, somethings happen when you are least expecting them to happen.  And those are the precise moments when you suddenly realize, how amazing life can actually be.  I feel blessed to have people around me who genuinely love and care for me. And this means, if I have any problems in my life, they are ever ready to lend me their generous shoulder to cry on.  Life can get out of control sometimes where I feel I am falling, arms and legs flailing, helplessly.

That is when something like a simple email from a friend can change your perspective, make you feel hopeful and blessed. In one of my weaker moments, during a chat I mentioned to a friend how life’s treating me so bad and it seems, I will never have any control over any part of my life. Day after day, I struggle to understand how I can change my situation. The friend did no offer me any advice because perhaps the friend knew that it may really make no difference because in that moment I was not in any mood to take any advice or suggestion. So the friend took some time to reflect and wrote to me today.

“Have a great day dear. 

Hope nothing bogs you down today. 

Remember, an adventurous or exciting life does not mean climbing mountains and partying or jumping off cliffs. It just means risking yourself by leaving a little piece of you behind in all those things that interest you, or people you meet along the way. So every day when you wake up and think of what you have achieved you can say proudly ..’Been there, Done that’ !

 You are not here to fight everyone else’s battles. You are not here to take up others problems. It might be tempting to help them, you might be lured into it because they can’t fight it. If others find you as a crutch to solve their issues remember…. You have already won. Your single aim in life should be to find that one reason to remain happy and that will make you look forward to tomorrow. When you do, you don’t fight battles anymore, everything glides past you…trying to alter your state of mind. 

 EVERYONE WHO TRIES TO SLOW YOU DOWN, STOP YOU, OR HINDER YOUR WAY FORWARD…..only do it because THEY KNOW YOU WILL REACH PLACES AND HEIGHTS THEY WONT BE ABLE TO GET TO.”

I wrote this on my blog because I felt there may be many today, at this moment going through a lot of crap. This message may resonate with you too. It may make your day a wee bit brighter. I am lucky to have a friend who really cares and took that time out to email me. The least I can do is to spread the word so that people like me can see that ray of light.

